Achievements of locals and new citizens honoured at Shire of Derby/West Kimberley Australia Day Ceremony

Published on Friday, 31 January 2020 at 12:00:00 AM

Locals who have made a significant contribution to the community were honoured at the Derby/West Kimberley Australia Day Breakfast on Sunday 26 January.

Derby woman Maria Mathews is the Citizen of the Year as part of the 2019 Community Citizen of the Year Awards which were announced at the breakfast on Sunday.

The award recognises Maria’s outstanding contribution to the community by starting up the weekly soup kitchen in Derby, providing a nourishing meal for those in need in our community.

The Community Group of the Year was awarded to the Derby Sportsmen’s Club. The Sportsmen’s Club provides a space for the community to meet and supports numerous events throughout the year.

Youth Award (under 25 years) was awarded to Owen Burns, for his volunteering at 6DBY over the last six years which has recently resulted in him being offered the paid position of morning show host. Owen was also one of the instigators of the kick around soccer at the Derby Town Oval on Wednesday night’s bringing together youth from the community.

The Senior Community Citizen of the Year went to Phillip Robinson for his contribution to the environment. For the past four months, Phillip has been picking up rubbish all over the marsh and creating awareness of the pollution of our environment. Phillip helped create a community clean-up day and has been educating the community on the affects pollution has on our planet.

During the breakfast held at the Derby Sportsmen’s Club, fourteen new Australian citizens were welcomed.

Shire President Geoff Haerewa conducted both ceremonies and said it was great to see local people and groups being recognised in the community for their contribution and a wonderful chance to welcome new Australian Citizens.

“We are so lucky in Derby/West Kimberley to have people and groups in our community who make a positive difference and go above and beyond to help contribute to making our community a bigger and better place.

“This Australia Day we welcomed people from seven different countries during the Citizenship Ceremony which included Venezuela, Philippines, United Kingdom, India, United States, Iran and New Zealand,” said Cr Haerewa.

Back to All News