Who makes a real difference in our community?

Each year on Australia Day, the Community Citizen of the Year Awards give local governments around the state the opportunity to acknowledge the contribution and celebrate community engagement of people within the community.

In particular we encourage people from diverse backgrounds to consider nominating, including Aboriginal and Torres Strait Islander people, women, young people, those living with disabilities and people from culturally diverse backgrounds.

The Shire of Derby/West Kimberley is seeking nominations across the following 4 categories:

  1. Community Citizen of the Year
  2. Community Citizen of the Year (Youth)
  3. Community Citizen of the Year (Senior)
  4. Active Citizenship (Group or Event)

How to Nominate Someone

To submit an online nomination use the following link https://www.citizenshipawards.com.au/nominate/

Click Here to download a pdf version of the Individual Nomination forms (Citizen of the Year, Youth and Senior)

Click Here to download a pdf version of the Group/Event Nomination forms (Active Citizenship)

Key Dates

September 1, 2023           Nominations open

October 31, 2023              Nominations close

Nov-Dec 2023                   Shortlisting and Selection

January 26, 2024              Award presentations

2024 Winners

On 26 January 2024, an awards ceremony took place in Derby at the Sportsmens Club. Local individuals and groups were recognised for their overall achievements throughout the previous year.

There were 17 nominations across 4 categories. The winners of each category were:

Citizen of the Year:                 Neil Gordon

Citizen of the Year (Youth):     Megan Neshoda

Citizen of the Year (Senior):    Elinor Davey

Group or Event of the Year:    Sculptures on the Marsh 

Read the news story here: https://www.sdwk.wa.gov.au/news/citizen-of-the-year-awards-2024/287?c=2Latest News - All Items